State Contacts

 

It is at the state level that the growth and institutional success of Safe Routes to School programs is occurring.

As the gatekeepers for federal funds related to the federal Safe Routes to School program and now the Transportation Alternatives Program, the state Departments of Transportation (DOTs) are responsible for disbursing funds to local programs in accordance with state policies and applicable federal laws and guidance. Most states have a coordinator responsible for administering the Safe Routes to School program, or have shifted to having a coordinator of the Transportation Alternatives Program. Safe Routes to School coordinators are listed below, you can find a list of Transportation Alternatives Program coordinators here.

Find out about your state’s progress here.

State Contacts

 

Alabama

No Contact



 

Alaska

Program Development Headquarters
Alaska DOT
(907) 465-4070
Visit Website

 

Arizona

No Contact



 

Arkansas

Kim Sanders
Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department SRTS Coordinator
Kim.Sanders@ardot.gov
Visit Website

 

California

Active Transportation Resource Center
ATSP@cdph.ca.gov

atp-ni@dot.ca.gov

Visit Website

Click here for the Safe Routes Partnership's work in California.

 

Colorado

Melissa Trecoske-Houghton
(720) 307-6704
melissa.houghton@state.co.us
Visit Website

 

Connecticut

Katherine Hedburg
Transportation Engineer
katherine.hedberg@ct.gov
Visit Website

 

Delaware

Thomas Kneavel
Delaware DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
thomas.kneavel@delaware.gov
Visit Website

 

District of Columbia

Derrick Hardy
derrick.hardy@dc.gov
Visit Website

Florida

Sarita Taylor
Florida DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
sarita.taylor@dot.state.fl.us
Visit Website

 

Georgia

Jack Anninos
Georgia DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(404) 635-2834
janninos@dot.ga.gov
Visit website

 

Hawaii

Tara Y.I. Lucas
Hawaii DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(808) 692-7696
saferoutestoschool@hawaii.gov

Visit website

 

Idaho

elaine@idahosmartgrowth.org
Visit website

 

Illinois

Kelly Larimore
kelly.larimore2@illinois.gov
Visit website

 

Indiana

No Contact



 

Iowa

Jared Moford
jared@iowabicyclecoalition.org
Visit Website

 

Kansas

Jenny Kramer
Jenny.Kramer@ks.gov
Visit website

 

Kentucky

Jackie Jones
Kentucky Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(502) 782-4734
jackie.jones@ky.gov

 

Louisiana

No Contact



 

Maine

Patrick Adams
Bicycle and Pedestrian Program Manager
Patrick.Adams@maine.gov
Visit Website

 

Maryland

Christy D. Bernal
Transportation Alternatives Program Coordinator

(410) 545-5659
CBernal@sha.state.md.us
Visit website

 

Massachusetts

Diane Hanson
Massachusetts SRTS Program Director
(857) 383-3807
diane.hanson@aecom.com
Visit website 

 

Michigan

Katie Alexander
Director of Safe Routes to School
(517) 908-3830
kalexander@michiganfitness.org

Bryan Armstrong
SRTS Program Manager
517-335-2636
armstrongb@michigan.gov

Visit Website

 

Minnesota

Dave Cowan
Minnesota DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
Dave.Cowan@state.mn.us
Visit Website

 

Mississippi

Cookie Leffler
Mississippi DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
cleffler@mdot.ms.gov
Visit Website

 

Missouri

Andrew Seiler
Andrew.Seiler@modot.mo.gov

 

Montana

Dave Holien
dholien@mt.gov

 

Nebraska

Jeffrey Soula
Urban and Transportation Alternatives Engineer
jeffrey.soula@nebraska.gov

 

Nevada

Alan Scott Bohemier
 
 
New Hampshire

Tom Jameson
TAP Coordinator
(603) 271-3344
tjameson@dot.state.nh.us

Charles Willeke
TAP Manager
charles.willeke@dot.state.nh.us
Visit Website

 

New Jersey

Elise Bremer-Nei
New Jersey DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(609) 530-2765
elise.bremer-nei@dot.state.nj.us

Bill Riviere 
William.Riviere@dot.nj.gov

Sean Meehan
New Jersey Safe Routes to School Center Director
smeehan@ejb.rutgers.edu
Visit Website | Alternative Website

 

New Mexico

Jessica Griffin
(505) 231-7769

 

New York

List of local coordinators
Visit Website

 

North Carolina

Ed Johnson, ASLA, RLA
North Carolina Safe Routes to School Coordinator, NCDOT Division of Bicycle and Pedestrian Transportation
(919) 707-2604
erjohnson2@ncdot.gov
Visit Website

 

North Dakota

Pam Wenger
Tap Coordinator
pwenger@nd.gov
Visit Website

 

Ohio

Cait Harley
Safe Routes to School and Active Transportation Manager
Caitlin.Harley@dot.ohio.gov
Visit Website

 
Oklahoma

Mark Scott
mscott@odot.org
Visit Website

 

Oregon

Heidi Manlove
heidi.manlove@odot.state.or.us

LeeAnne Ferguson
leeanne.fergason@odot.state.or.us
Visit Website

Click here for the Safe Routes Partnership's work in the Pacific Northwest.

 

Pennsylvania


Visit Website

 

Rhode Island

Michael D'Alessandro
Michael.DAlessandro@doa.ri.gov

Thomas Queenan
TAP Coordinator 
thomas.queenan@dot.ri.gov
Visit Website

 

South Carolina

Amy Blison 
blinsonal@scdot.org

Ashley Johnson 
johnsonha@scdot.org

 

South Dakota

Logan Gran 
Logan.Gran@state.sd.us

 

Tennessee

Neil Hansen
neil.hansen@tn.gov
Visit Website

 

Texas

TAP coordinators

Bonnie Sherman
Bonnie.Sherman@txdot.gov

Phillip Tindall
Phillip.Tindall@txdot.gov

 

Utah

Kristen Hoschouer
khoschouer@utah.gov
Visit Website

 

Vermont

Jon Kaplan
Jon.Kaplan@vermont.gov
Visit Website

 

Virginia

Katherine Graham
katherine.graham@vdot.virginia.gov
Visit Website

 

Washington

Charlotte Claybrooke
(360) 705-7302
ClaybrC@wsdot.wa.gov
Visit Website

Click here for the Safe Routes Partnership's work in the Pacific Northwest.

 

West Virginia

TAP Coordinators
Mark Scuolar 
r.mark.scoular@wv.go

Tim Sedosky 
Timothy.B.Sedosky@wv.gov

 

Wisconsin

Travis Houle
Statewide TAP Coordinator

Merrill Mechler
Safe Routes to Schools
(608) 261-8977

Alternative Phone Number: (608) 266-9656

 

Wyoming

David Herdt
david.herdt@wyo.gov
Visit Website